Our Academy Council


The Academy Council consists of: 

Name 

Designation 

Declarations of Interest

Phil Harrison 

Chair of AC, National Director of Education: Specialist SET, SET 

Contact details: louise.teasdale@sas.set.org

Director/Trustee of Equals Charity

Cath Spender

Strategic Finance Lead, SET 

Contact details: cath.spender@shaw-education.org.uk

None

Melsa Buxton 

School Improvement Director, SET 

Contact details: melsa.buxton@shaw-education.org.uk

Relative employed at St Andrew's Academy

Relative employed at St Martins School

Sue Wilkins 

Academy Council Representative 

Contact details: sue.wilkins@sas.set.org

Academy Councillor at St Giles (Spencer Academy)

David Braybrooke 

Headteacher, St Andrews’s Academy 

Contact details: david.braybrooke@sas.set.org

None

Julie Ashman

Staff Academy Councillor

Contact details: julie.ashman@sas.set.org

None
Elizabeth Pacey

Staff Academy Councillor

Contact details: elizabeth.pacey@sas.set.org

None
Julie Norton

Parent Academy Councillor

Contact details: julie.norton@sas.set.org

None
Emma Johnstone

Parent Academy Councillor

Contact details: emma.johnstone@sas.set.org

None

Academy Council Board

Local governance and accountability is secured through our Academy Council, with the Trust Board retaining overall legal control of its academies in line with Department for Education and Education Funding Agency expectations.

Our Academy Council are responsible for the conduct of the school and work to promote high standards. The key roles of the Academy Council are:

  • To ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school
  • To hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • To oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent

Academy Council Information

Governors Hub (For Academy Council use)
Our Academy Councillors use this site to access the paperwork and information they require